Restocking the freezer

Recently I let Rassilons breakfasts run down in the freezer, so I could restock with fresher meat. The only trouble is that the freezer drawer takes A LOT of meat. I have already put 7 packets of fresh meat in there, and I have bought more to add to it.

DSCN0562

16 breakfasts for Rassilon @ $1.70 per meal.

On the bright side, because it is not recommended that greyhounds eat tinned food, all of Rassilons meat is bought from the supermarket and is ‘people’ quality, so if I ever get desperate, I can eat it too.

One 500g pack of meat = 2 breakfasts, so it isn’t too bad. I spoke to one woman who has a greyhound that has an allergy to wheat, so it can’t handle ordinary dog biscuits. Rassilon can eat ordinary dog biscuits which cost me about $9.00 for 8 kilos. This woman has to buy special biscuits at $56.00 for 8 kilos.

On the DOWN SIDE, I wanted Rassilon to smell nice and feel soft for his hospital visits, so I went to buy some shampoo and conditioner suitable for greyhounds.

Shampoo…250ml = $12.80,

Conditioner…100ml = $15.30.

Comparison, I can buy 1 liter of brand name conditioner for humans, for under $5.00.

Still, Rassilon is the star of the show, so he has to be just right, and if that means spending ridiculous amounts of money on him, so be it.

DSCN0566

$28.10. You pay for stuff when they add the words “pet use only”

Leave a Reply

