What a week it was.

Good times and bad. It started off well when Rassilon went to the nursing home for his visit. He was fantastic last week. Concentrating on the residents and he was very talkative, saying goodbye to everyone.

For a special treat we stopped at Reynella on the way home (to check the mail), but we went and had a coffee and I ordered some toasted sandwiches. Everyone around was amused when the waitress brought them out and asked, “Ham, cheese and tomato”? “That’s mine” I replied. “Ham and cheese”?, “That’s his” I said pointing to Rassilon. Of course there was a lot of muttering from an expectant greyhound until his sandwich cooled down.

Then my week improved. I received my dishwasher. I have wanted one for a long time, but I don’t have enough room under the cupboards to fit one, so I looked on eBay for a bench-top dishwasher, and there is such a thing, so I ordered one, because I HATE washing dishes.

I had to buy a new kitchen tap with the right fittings to connect the washer to. Then I had to buy a new kitchen cupboard to put all the clean dishes in. As a result of having all the clean dishes all over the kitchen, and now moving things to fit the cupboard in, I still haven’t got a tidy kitchen, but at least the dished have been washed.

The cupboard was, like almost everything today, flat-pack, so I had to put it together. I emptied the box in the lounge, so there was plastic parts all over the place. I got the instructions out, but thanks to cataracts in my eyes, I couldn’t read them because the little light I have in the house was too bright, so I couldn’t see the instructions.

Today (4 days later) I had a sleep then got up at about 7.30 pm and managed to put the cupboard together (in just 2 hours), with much banging and thumping and talking to myself.

While all that was going on, where was Rassilon?

DSCN0640

Making beds. Another waste of time.

Tomorrow we go to Repat hospital for our therapy dog visit, but we have to look out for one person in particular. I had to take my mother to the Flinders hospital, Renal Clainic, for an iron infusion (drip), while there I heard a nurse telling a patient they were  going to be transferred to Rapat hospital, so I went in and asked if they knew which ward they were going to. They said GEM, ward one, so I said I will see then tomorrow, had a nice chat and gave them a Rassilon business card.

So now it is time for bed, so I can get up early. Rassilon needs a good wash because he smells.

Leave a Reply

